Meet the new ASBMB ATP delegates ?>

Meet the new ASBMB ATP delegates

The American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology is proud to introduce the delegates in the second cohort of the society’s Advocacy Training Program.

These 12 ASBMB members are at various stages of their careers and hail from all regions of the U.S. They were chosen for their dedication to advocating for the science community, their desire to learn more about effective means of advocacy and their experience as leaders in their labs and community.

The delegates are:

  • Zarina Akbary, undergraduate student at Drew University in New Jersey
  • Jennifer Clinton, graduate student at Baylor University in Texas
  • Evan Comeaux, postdoctoral fellow at St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital in Tennessee
  • Sernah Essien, graduate student at Tufts University in Massachusetts
  • Kathryn Eudy, graduate student at Miami University in Ohio
  • Levi Evans, graduate student at the University of Nevada, Reno in Nevada
  • Laura Garcia Ibanez, postdoctoral fellow at Columbia University in New York
  • T.L. Jordan, graduate student at the Mayo Clinic in Minnesota
  • Anila Madiraju, postdoctoral fellow at the Salk Institute for Biological Sciences in California
  • Dominique Mosley, undergraduate student at Spelman College in Georgia
  • Elisabeth Nyakatura, assistant professor at Albert Einstein College of Medicine in New York
  • Miguel Rojas, graduate student at the University of Miami in Florida

Delegates will participate in a six-month externship-style program. The first two months of training will equip them with the knowledge and skills to design and implement advocacy activities. After finishing the program, delegates will have the opportunity to join the ATP alumni group and remain involved in ASBMB’s advocacy activities.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.